COVID 19 Guidance

The developing COVID 19 situation is obviously of great concern to us as an Academy and the wider community.

We are currently following advice from the Government and associated specialists on our precautions and next steps.

If you wish to contact the Academy please use the contact us page on our website as our phones, text messaging service and Facebook will not be monitored.

All pupils have been given advice about handwashing and personal hygiene at this time.

At the current time all activities that take place outside of the school day have been cancelled/postponed for the forseeable future.

Further details will be provided to parents and carers regarding the postponement and rearrangement of trips and visits on a case by case basis to manage the volume of information we are providing to you and to ensure clear and consistent messages.

Daily Updates

Plans For September 2020 Letter

Weekly Update - Friday 17/07/2020

Weekly Update - Friday 03/07/2020

Weekly Update - Friday 26th June 2020

Weekly Update - Friday 19th June 2020

Daily Update Friday 12th June 2020

Daily Update Thursday 11th June 2020

Daily Update Wednesday 10th June 2020

Daily Update Tuesday 9th June 2020

Daily Update Monday 8th June 2020

Daily Update Friday 5th June 2020

Daily Update Thursday 4th June 2020

Daily Update Wednesday 3rd June 2020

Daily Update Tuesday 2nd June 2020

Daily Update Monday 1st June 2020

Daily updates Thursday 19th March 2020

Daily updates Friday 20th March 2020

Daily Update Monday 23rd March 2020

Daily Update Tuesday 24th March 2020

Daily Update Wednesday 25th March 2020

Daily Update Thursday 26th March 2020

Daily Update Friday 27th March 2020

Daily Update Monday 30th March 2020

Daily Update Tuesday 31st March 2020

Daily Update Wednesday 1st April 2020

Daily Update Thursday 2nd April 2020

Daily Update Friday 3rd April 2020

Daily Update Monday 20th April 2020

Daily Update Tuesday 21st April 2020

Daily Update Wednesday 22nd April 2020

Daily Update Thursday 23rd April 2020

Daily Update Friday 24th April 2020

Daily Update Monday 27th April 2020

Daily Update Tuesday 28th April 2020

Daily Update Wednesday 29th April 2020

Daily Update Thursday 30th April 2020

Daily Update Friday 1st May 2020

Daily Update Monday 4th May 2020

Daily Update Tuesday 5th May 2020

Daily Update Wednesday 6th May 2020

Daily Update Thursday 7th May 202

Daily Update Sunday 10th May 2020

Daily Update Monday 11th May 2020

Daily Update Tuesday 12th May 2020

Daily Update Wednesday 13th May 2020

Daily Update Thursday 14th May 2020

Daily Update Friday 15th May 2020

Daily Update Monday 18th May 2020

Daily Update Tuesday 19th May 2020

Daily Update Wednesday 20th May 2020

Daily Update Thursday 21st May 2020

Daily Update Friday 22nd May 2020

 

Academy Risk Assessment from 1st June 2020

Covid 19 - Reopening and Social Distancing Risk Assessment

Useful Links and contacts for parents

Families Health and Wellbeing Newsletter May 2020

Coping in Lock Down

Managing Conflict at Home

Staffordshire Police - Preventing Child Exploitation

Staffordshire Police Activity Pack

Safer Schools App - Information for Pupils

Safer Schools App - Information for Parents & Carers

Addendum to the Academy Safeguarding Policy 

English Writing Support Pack

Paediatric Guidance Document

CEOP: Thinkuknow: Online Safety Guidance

Safeguarding Children Board - partner services update due to COVID-19

NSPCC COVID-19 factsheet for parents (April 2020 edition)

Leek Tennis Club Flyer

Virtual School Tennis Competition

Virtual School Games Dance Competition

 

Keyworkers and Other Identified Groups

Following the Government update on Monday 23rd March, children of key workers must stay at home unless it is absolutely necessary for them to attend school in order for both parents to be in work as key workers. Please understand that school opening is for emergency only. Where at all possible, please keep your child at home to help to avoid the spread of the COVID-19 virus. In order to enable increased social distancing and limit the number of staff in school each day, the school kitchen will no longer be open. Therefore, please send your child to school with the food and drink they need for the day. The school office will also no longer be open; please use the contact form on our website. Please support St Edward's Academy staff as much as you can in these difficult times. Thank you.

A text will be sent each morning asking if your child / children will need a place at the Academy for the following school day.  Please reply to this by 12pm via the contact us page on our website.

If your child / children need to do a half day session at the Academy, please see below the times:

AM Session:  08:45hrs until 12:40hrs.  Please collect your child at 12:40hrs

PM Session: 13:40hrs until 15:40hrs.  Please drop off your child at 13:35hrs

If you wish to contact the Academy please use the contact us page on our website as our phones, text messaging service and Facebook will not be monitored.

Letter regarding provision for key workers - Friday 20th March 2020

Key Worker Confirmation and Information Letter

Identified Group Confirmation and Information Letter

Updated Guidance on Go4Schools

Please find below the links to guidance in regards to logging on Go4Schools:

https://www.stedwards.academy/letters/1584621533.pdf

https://www.stedwards.academy/admin/ckfinder/userfiles/files/Go%20for%20Schools%20Letter%20%26%20Guidance%20Notes%20September%202019.pdf

Below is a range of advice and contact details for key agencies for parents.

Updated guidance for education settings on coronavirus (COVID-19)

Today, the Department for Education and Public Health England have issued updated guidance for education settings on COVID-19. This guidance will assist staff in addressing COVID-19 in educational settings. This includes childcare, schools, further and higher educational institutions.

What you need to know:

  • staff, young people and children should stay at home if they are unwell with a new, continuous cough or a high temperature to avoid spreading infection to others. Otherwise they should attend education or work as normal
  • if staff, young people or children become unwell on site with a new, continuous cough or a high temperature they should be sent home
  • clean and disinfect regularly touched objects and surfaces more often than usual using your standard cleaning products
  • supervise young children to ensure they wash their hands for 20 seconds more often than usual with soap and water or hand sanitiser and catch coughs and sneezes in tissues

The updated guidance can be found here:

Current advice remains in place: no education or children’s social care setting should close in response to a suspected or confirmed COVID-19 case unless advised to do so by Public Health England.

The Chief Medical Officer has advised that the impact of closing schools on both children’s education and on the workforce would be substantial, but the benefit to public health may not be. Decisions on future advice to education or children’s social care settings will be taken based on the latest and best scientific evidence, which at this stage suggests children are a lower risk group.

 Handwashing advice

The most important thing individuals can do to protect themselves is to wash their hands more often, for at least 20 seconds, with soap and water. Public Health England recommends that in addition to handwashing before eating, and after coughing and sneezing, everyone should also wash hands after using toilets and travelling on public transport.

Watch this short NHS film for guidance:

Department for Education coronavirus helpline

The Department for Education coronavirus helpline is available to answer questions about COVID-19 relating to education and children’s social care. Staff, parents and young people can contact this helpline as follows:

Phone: 0800 046 8687
Opening hours: 8am to 6pm (Monday to Friday), 10am to 4pm (Saturday to Sunday)

Please note, we are currently experiencing high volumes of calls. We appreciate your patience at this time and apologise for any wait that you may experience. To ensure that we answer your calls as quickly as possible we have now extended our opening hours to cover weekends.

 

Where to find the latest information

Updates on COVID-19:

Guidance for educational settings:

Guidance for social or community care and residential settings:

Travel advice for those travelling and living overseas:

Educational resources:

Latest Department for Education information:

Staffordshire County Council Contact Details

Phone: 0300 111 8050                  9 am to 5pm (Monday to Friday)

Email: contactus@staffordshire.gov.uk